How I convinced my parents

 

So how did I convince my parents to let me spend 7 months in a foreign country?
Well, honestly? 
I've always said that I wanted to do something like this but it never occurred to me that I would actually do it. 
I've never been a person who takes things by the hand and does it. I'm more of a thinker...well some sort of anyways.
What I can still remember was one conversation I had with my parents before our trip to Australia last year. We sat down and I told them about my plans. I told them what I had prepared. Seriously, be prepared!! Look up different organisations, inform yourself about the country you will live in, have a look at the different scholarships and financial things.
So when I first really talked to my parents I was prepared. I was ready to do everything that it takes to convince them. I started talking and talking, I didn't stop until I said everything I had to say! And believe me, I had an awful lot to say. My parents didn't say a word (not that they could have, because I was constantly talking) .
Even after I finished they didn't say anything. They just looked at me until my dad said "Are you finished now?". I was so ready to conquer all their concerns and make them feel positive about my ideas, but to my surprise they were fine with it. They were totally cool.
I think they were really impressed by my motivation and excitement.
They knew that this was what I really wanted, they somehow knew that this was different, that this wasn't some sort of "I want to be a magician in Timbuktu" idea. I think they felt that this time I was a 110% sure what I was doing! That I was sure about myself and confident and old enough to do it.
So this is how I convinced my parents. I didn't. I just had to be as convinced about my own plans as I was and still am!
I think secretly they didn't believe that it was going to work out. I was really late for applications and at first I wasn't able to find any sort of scholarship.
So when we were in Australia I started working on an application-song. I wrote a funny text about myself, what I like and don't, my hobbies and my fear of spiders (which got waaaay better btw).

So when we returned back I continued recording and even started filming for this project. But it all turned out differently.

I looked a lot for organisations, a lot. I really mean hours and hours of research.

In the end I applied for two organisations and I had a Skype-conference with both of them (it had to be via Skype since I live to far away from bigger German cities). In the end I chose "Team!" as you can see when you click on "meine Organisation". 

 

Well. And that's basically it. There isn't much more to say. I have to admit that it was easy to convince my parents.

It is a great help to prepare yourself and be 100% sure about what you want and what you are doing.